The Paul Pimsleur Award for Research in Foreign Language Education was created in 1977 in response to the initiative of an anonymous donor. It was established as a memorial to Paul Pimsleur and recognizes his contributions to the profession as an outstanding teacher, researcher, and expert on test creation and interpretation. His professional influence was felt internationally, and his work lives on through the Pimsleur Aptitude Tests and the materials for independent language learning that he created.
For more information on the award, visit ACTFL's website.


Previous ACTFL / NFMLTA / MLJ Paul Pimsleur Award Recipients


2016: Tara W. Fortune and Diane J. Tedick, University of Minnesota

2015:  Wendy Baker-Smemoe, Dan P. Dewey, Jennifer Bown, and Rob A. Martinsen, Brigham Young University   

2014:  Masatoshi Sato, Universidad Andrés Bello

2013: Laurent Cammarata, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, and Diane Tedick, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
2012: Susan Gass and Luke Plonsky, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI
2011: Rachel L. Shively, Illinois State University, Normal, IL
2010: Laura Collins, Pavel Trofimovich, Joanna White, Walcir Cardoso, and Marlise Horst, Concordia University, Montreal, Canada
2009: Julie Belz, Indiana University, Indianapolis, IN, and Nina Vyatkina, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS
2008: Matthew E. Poehner, Pennsylvania State University, State College, PA
2007: Paul D. Toth, University of Wisconsin–Madison, Madison, WI
2006: Richard Donato, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, and Frank B. Brooks, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Indiana, PA
2005: JoAnn Hammadou Sullivan, University of Rhode Island, Kingston, RI
2004: Hiram H. Maxim, Georgetown University, Washington, DC
2003: Junko Mori, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI
2002: Paul Toth, University of Akron, Akron, OH
2001: John Norris, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Honolulu, HI, and Lourdes Ortega, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA
2000: Rob Schoonen, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands; Jan Hulstijn, Free University Amsterdam, The Netherlands; and Bart Bossers, Free University, The Netherlands
1999: Matthew Saxton, Royal Holloway University of London, Surrey, England
1998: Roy Lyster, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, and Leila Ranta, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1997: Richard Donato, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA; Janis L. Antonek, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Greensboro, NC; and G. Richard Tucker, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA
1996: Teresa Cadierno, University of Southern Denmark, Odense, Denmark
1995: Susan M. Gass, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI and Evangeline Marlos Varonis, University of Akron, Akron, OH
1994: Susan Bacon, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH
1993: Catherine Doughty, Georgetown University, Washington, DC
1992: George Yule, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, and Doris M. Macdonald, Northern Illinois University, Dekalb, IL
1991: Michael D. Finnemann, Augustana College, Rock Island, IL
1990: Fred Genesee and Wallace E. Lambert, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, with graduate students Naomi E. Holobow and Louise Chartrand
1989: Russell N. Campbell, University of California at Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA; Amado A. Padilla, Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA; and Marguerite Ann Snow, California State University at Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA
1988: Teresa Pica, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA
1987: Marva A. Barnett, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA
1986: Henry Edwards, Richard Clement, Bastian Kruidenier, and Marjorie Wesche, University of Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, and Stephen Krashen, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA
1985: Patricia L. Carrell, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, IL
1984: Jacqueline Ross, Boulder Public Schools, Boulder, CO, and Charles Stansfield, Educational Testing Service, Princeton, NJ
1983: John E. Lalande II, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO
1982: Thomas C. Cooper and Genelle G. Morain, University of Georgia, Athens, GA
1981: Ellen Bialystok, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, Ontario, Canada
1980: Alice C. Omaggio, University of Illinois, Urbana, IL; Janet King Swaffar and Margaret S. Woodruff, University of Texas, Austin, TX
1979: William Flint Smith and Linda L. Nieman, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN.